Oconee Enterprise: Obituaries

Obituaries

rss feed

Recent Obituaries

Tuesday 03/03/2015
Lesley Maggiore

Lesley Conway Maggiore, 67, of Watkinsville, died Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the March 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Virgil P. Harper

Virgil P. Harper, 92, of Madison, died Friday, Feb. 27, 2015. Henry Funeral Home, Social Circle. For a full obituary, see the March 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

D.W. "Shorty" Elrod

D. W. “Shorty” Elrod, 66, of Statham, died Sunday, March 1, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the March 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Hilda Mae Koelling

Hilda Mae Koelling, 92, of Independence, Mo., died Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015. For a full obituary, see the March 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 02/23/2015
Ken Kilpatrick

Ken Kilpatrick, 52, of Watkinsville, died Friday, Feb. 20, 2015. Oconee Chapel Funeral Directors.  www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Friday 02/20/2015
Linda Weaver

Linda Jackson Weaver, 74, of Bogart, died Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 02/16/2015
Robert Forrest Towns

Robert Forrest Towns, 76, of Athens, died Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015. Bernstein Funeral Home and Cremation Service. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 19 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

James Bowen Sr.

James Barrett Bowen Sr., 72, of Colbert, died Saturday, Feb. 14, 2015. Pruitt Funeral Home, Royston. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 19 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 02/09/2015
Muzette Wilson Holloway

Muzette Wilson Holloway, 94, of Watkinsville, formerly of Penfield, died Friday, Feb. 6, 2015. McCommons Funeral Home, Greensboro. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 12 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Mark T. Hartley

Mark T. Hartley, 60, of Watkinsville, died Monday, Feb. 2, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 12 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 02/02/2015
Louise T. Shearon

Louise T. Shearon, 101, of Watkinsville, died Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Lester Carson

Lester Carson, 82, of Watkinsville, died Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Feb. 5 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 01/26/2015
Denise Colles Jones

Denise Colles Jones, 45, of Bogart, died Sunday, Jan. 25, 2015. Bernstein Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 29 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

R. Coleman Whitehead

Robert Coleman Whitehead, 84, of Colbert, died Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 29 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Thursday 01/22/2015
Jimmy Alton Payne

Jimmy Alton Payne, 63, of Bogart, died Saturday, Jan. 17, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 22 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

James Mercer Treadwell Jr.

James "Jim" M. Treadwell Jr., 70, of Madison, died Friday, Jan. 9, 2015. A.E. Carter Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 22 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Billy Ray Robinson

Billy Ray Robinson, 66, of Commerce, died Sunday, Jan. 18, 2015. Little-Ward Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 22 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Alfred L. "Al" Cuming

Alfred L. "Al" Cuming, 96, of Mount Pleasant, S.C., formerly of Watkinsville, died Thursday, Jan. 15, 2015. McAlister-Smith Funeral Home, Mount Pleasant Chapel. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 22 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

William B. Covington

William B. Covington, 89, of Cary, N.C., died Tuesday, Jan. 13, 2015. Wake Funeral and Cremation Service, Cary, N.C. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 22 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 01/12/2015
E. Mildred Berryman

E. Mildred Smith Berryman, 87, of Watkinsville, died Sunday, Jan. 11, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 15 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Maggie Cordelia “Deat” Tiller

Maggie Cordelia “Deat” Tiller of Athens died Saturday, Jan. 10, 2015. Bernstein Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 15 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Edward Glen Holt

Rev. Dr. Edward Glen Holt, 82, of Watkinsville, died Wednesday, Jan. 7, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 15 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Thursday 01/08/2015
Stella Harbin

Stella Harbin, 86, of Monticello, died Monday, Jan. 5, 2015. Bernstein Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 15 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Friday 01/02/2015
Randy Morrison

Randall Edward “Randy” Morrison of Tifton, formerly of Watkinsville, died Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014 in Neskowin, Ore. Pacific View Memorial Chapel in Lincoln City, Ore. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise. 

Woody Bruce

Woodrow Wilson “Woody” Bruce Jr. of Bogart, died Thursday, Jan. 1, 2015. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Parks Brown

Parks Brown, 79, of Athens, died Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West.  www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Deborah Ann "Debo" Thomas

Deborah Ann “Debo” Thomas, 56, of Danielsville, died Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2014. Lord and Stephens, Danielsville. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Wednesday 12/31/2014
Randy Sanders

Randy Lee Sanders, 51, of Bishop, died Tuesday, Dec. 30, 2014. Meadows Funeral Home, Monroe. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Luree Thomas

Luree Martin Thomas, 90, of Oconee County, died Wednesday, Dec. 31, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Jan. 8 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

James T. Michael

James T. Michael, 81, of Athens, died Sunday, Dec. 28, 2014. Bernstein Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 31 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Elaine Healan

Mavis Elaine Healan, 78, of Watkinsville, died Thursday, Dec. 25, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 31 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Wilma Griffeth

Wilma W. Griffeth, 79, of Watkinsville, died Tuesday, Dec. 23, 2014. Lord and Stephens, East. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 31 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Marshall Earl Cooper

Marshall Earl Cooper, 80, of Nicholson, died Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 31 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 12/15/2014
Michelle Ward

Michelle Smith Ward, 47, of Watkinsville, died Sunday, Dec. 14, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 18 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Sunday 12/14/2014
Peggy Ann Gilliard Holbrooks

Peggy Ann Gilliard Holbrooks, 80, of Watkinsville, died Saturday, Dec. 13, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 18 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise. 

Friday 12/12/2014
Zach Ingram

William Zachary “Zach” Ingram, 31, of Bishop, died Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 18 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Tuesday 12/09/2014
William Frederick "Fred" Wilson

William Frederick “Fred” Wilson, 90, of Watkinsville, died Monday, Dec. 8, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 11 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Ronald B. Parsons

Ronald B. Parsons, 63, of Sparta, died Thursday, Dec. 4, 2014.  Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 11 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 12/01/2014
Fannie Hammond Houseman

Fannie Hammond Houseman, 83, of Watkinsville, died Sunday, Nov. 30, 2014.  Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 4 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Tuesday 11/25/2014
William A. “Bill” Whitmire

William A. “Bill” Whitmire of Bishop died Monday, Nov. 24, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. For a full obituary, see the Dec. 4 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Monday 11/24/2014
“Bro” Chandler

“Bro” Chandler, 48, of Bogart, died Saturday, Nov. 22, 2014. Carter Funeral Home, Winder. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Sunday 11/23/2014
Sarah Christana Kay Bell

Sarah Bell, 30, of Watkinsville, died Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Harry O. Lee

Harry O. Lee, 88, of Athens, died Friday, Nov. 21, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Thursday 11/20/2014
Jason Barry Johnson

Jason Barry Johnson, 39, of Pacific City, Ore., formerly of Watkinsville, died Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 26 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Tuesday 11/18/2014
Richard Maddux

Richard Haywood Maddux, 66, of Madison, Miss., died Saturday, Nov. 15, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 20 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Tuesday 11/11/2014
Alan M. Alexander Jr.

Alan McFarland Alexander Jr., 69, of Watkinsville, died Friday, Nov. 7, 2014. Bernstein Funeral Home. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 13 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Thursday 11/06/2014
Julian Carter Hammond

Julian Carter Hammond, 76, of Monroe, died Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2014. Meadows Funeral Home, Monroe. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 13 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Tuesday 11/04/2014
Donald Sanford "Don" Smith

Donald Sanford "Don" Smith, 73, of Statham, died Monday, Nov. 3, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 13 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Charles Milton Crawford Sr.

Charles Milton Crawford Sr., 74, of Hartwell, died Monday, Nov. 3, 2014. Lord and Stephens, West. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 13 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Betty Kirk Marbut

Betty Kirk Marbut, 67, of Athens, died Monday, Nov. 3, 2014. Lord and Stephens, East. www.lordandstephens.com. For a full obituary, see the Nov. 13 print edition of The Oconee Enterprise.

Stocks